President Uhuru Kenyatta plans to award 14 legislators drawn from both the National Assembly and the Senate during this year’s Mashujaa Day celebrations.

This is after parliament nominated the 14 to receive the Chief of the Order of the Burning Spear (CBS) and the Elder of the Order of Burning Spear (EBS).

Parliament in an advertisement in the print media on Friday, September 24, listed the 14 lawmakers and asked the public with any objection to present their views to the Joint Parliamentary Honours Advisory Committee.

Members of the public who have objections to the proposed list were given until Friday, October 1, to send their objections to the Committee.

The list has nine members drawn from the National Assembly and five from the Senate.

MPs Peter Mwathi (Limuru), Silas Tiren (Moiben), Ezekiel Machogu (Nyaribari Masaba), Muturi Kigano (Kangema), Swarup Mishara (Kesses), Robert Mbui (Kathiani), Janet Ongera (Kisii) Mishi Mboko (Likoni) and Ben Momanyi (Borabu) were nominated to receive the CBS.

Senators nominated to receive the award of the CBS include Aaron Cheruiyot (Kericho), Kimani Wamatangi (Kiambu), Fred Outa (Kisumu) and nominated senators Alice Milgo and Beatrice Kwamboka.

Controller of Budget Margaret Nyakang’o was nominated for the award of Chief of the Order of the Burning Spear.

Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly Jeremiah Ndombi and his Senate counterpart Serah Kioko were nominated to receive the Elder of the Order of Burning Spear (EBS).

During most national holidays, the country has witnessed a number of Kenyans being conferred with presidential awards in recognition of their service to the nation.

Various statesmen including academicians, techno crats, politicians, journalists, athletes, clergymen among others have received the coveted awards, which are only conferred by a sitting Head of State.

The highest of these awards is the Order of the Golden Heart of Kenya which is divided into three classes depending on their seniority. The most senior is the Chief of the Order of the Golden Heart of Kenya (C.G.H.) which is mostly awarded to Presidents.

Apart from sitting Kenyan Presidents, other notable figures who have previously been given the honour include Ugandan President Yoweri Museveni, his Liberian counterpart Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Agha Khan IV among others.

Next is the Elder of the Order of the Golden Heart of Kenya (E.G.H.), which is awarded to among others the Deputy President, Speakers of Parliament, Cabinet Secretaries, the First Lady, the wife of the Deputy President, Head of Public Service and the Kenya Defence Forces’ (KDF) Chief of Staff.

Here are some benefits recipients of State Commendations enjoy: they are guests at national and community events. They can have events such as cultural and sports held in their honour.

In case of financial need, they can be assisted via the National Heroes Funds. The State can facilitate their kin’s education. Their dependents can serve in different opportunities where qualified. Infrastructures and streets can be named after them.

Sourced from Kenyans.co.ke

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s